Alfred Nzo District

Alfred Nzo District
Area: 1,731 square kilometres
Population: 801,300
Main towns: Kokstad, Matatiele, Maluti, Umzimkulu, Mount Ayliff, Mount Frere

The Alfred Nzo District covers the north east of the Eastern Cape Province, bordering Lesotho and KwaZulu-Natal.

It is named after a high-ranking African National Congress member who dedicated his life to the human rights struggle in South Africa, Alfred Nzo. 

The district’s population is relatively small with 99% of inhabitants being African. Over 11% of the Eastern Cape population lives in the district.  Xhosa is the first language in most areas.  However, there is significant use of Sesotho around Matatiele and Zulu around Umzimkulu.

The performance of the Alfred Nzo District Municipality has been satisfactory over the past decade or so with an average annual growth rate from 2000 to 2010 of 3.6%. The 2008–09 recession had very little affect on overall performance and growth rates were 5.2%, as opposed to the national average of -1.5% and the provincial average of -1%.

In 2010, the growth rate was only 2.3%, as opposed to an average annual growth rate of 2.8% and 2,3% in South Africa and the Eastern Cape respectively.

The tertiary sector is the municipality's largest contributor to its economy. Its contribution is 82.7%. This is followed by the secondary sector (14.6%) in the primary sector (2.7%).

The district contains remote, mountainous areas with high levels of poverty. The employment rate for the region stands at 72% (2010). 

A detailed study on this district is available here (link to study).


Contact Details

Physical Address
100 Main Street

Postal Address
P/Bag x3513

Tel: +27(0) 39 727 3282
Fax: +27 (0) 39 727 3273