A provincial catalyst for sustainable and inclusive economic development that promotes sound environmental.

We will collaborate at all levels of the organizational hierarchy and with external stakeholders.

We will pursue innovative and creative ideas to boost economic growth.

We will provide sufficient and timeous feedback on our work to internal and external stakeholders.

We will provide strategic direction to ensure economic growth and sustainable development.

These include, among others:

  • Co-operatives Act (14 of 2005)
  • Co-operatives Bank Act (40 of 2007)
  • Consumer Protection Act (68 of 2008)
  • Eastern Cape Consumer Protection Act (4 of 2018)
  • National Environmental Management Act (107 of 1998)
  • Environment Conservation Act (73 of 1989)
  • National Environmental Management: Biodiversity Act (10 of 2004)
  • Nature and the Environmental Conservation Ordinance (19 of 1974)
  • National Environmental Management – Protected Areas Act (57 of 2003)
  • Sea Shore Act
  • Environmental Conservation Decree (Former Transkei)
  • Nature Conservation Act (Former Ciskei)
  • Atmospheric Pollution Prevention Act
  • Problem Animal Control Ordinance.

In addition, specific pieces of enabling legislation have been enacted to support the work of the department through its six public entities.

Examples include:

  • Eastern Cape Development Corporation Act (2 of 1997)
  • Eastern Cape Gambling Act as amended by the Eastern Cape Gambling Amendment Act (Act 1 of 2015).

In addition, specific pieces of enabling legislation have been enacted to support the work of the department through its six public entities.

The mandate of the department has been enhanced by the 12 (now 14) key outcomes identified and agreed to by the National Cabinet in 2010.

The department had to adjust its strategic plan to demonstrate alignment with outcomes 4, 6, 7, 10 and 12 which are outlined below:

Under this outcome, the following policies and strategies are used to drive DEDEAT programmes:

  • Industrial Policy Action Plan (IPAP)
  • National Development Plan
  • New Growth Path
  • National LED Framework
  • Vision 2030 (successor to the Provincial Growth and Development Plan)
  • Jobs Fund Strategy Provincial Industrial Development Strategy (PIDS) now succeeded by the Provincial Economic Development Strategy (PEDS-2016); Strategic Integrated Projects (SIP3); the 10-Point-Plan
  • National Youth Policy 2015 -2020
  • Provincial Youth Development Strategy (2015)
  • Renewable Energy Strategy.

This is done through the Industrial Development Zone (IDZ) programmes at Coega and East London SEZ. The department is supporting the development of socio-economic infrastructure in identified areas of the Province. A process to transition from the IDZs to SEZs is underway since the gazetting of the SEZ Act (2014) and SEZ Regulations (2016).

The department has been collaborating with the Department of Rural Development and Agriculture. Agroindustry is being supported through an industry forum whose aim is to develop specific Agro value chains.

This is done through the department and the ECPTA. The DEDEAT Group maintains a network of Reserves throughout the Province. The Environmental Affairs Programme is responsible for the implementation of environmental legislation through compliance and enforcement, environmental quality management,

biodiversity management and environmental education services.

This is done through various programmes of the department and public entities such as consumer awareness training and environmental awareness training. Citizens are also empowered through province-wide programmes of the Eastern Cape Liquor Board (ECLB) and Eastern Cape Gambling Board (ECGB).

Inclusivity is also done partly through EPWP programmes, SMMEs/Cooperatives support and training as part of outcome 4 above.

The department’s work is influenced by a combination of economic and environmental imperatives in the Eastern Cape, key alignment instruments from international, national, provincial and local levels, structural organisation of the DEDEAT Group, as well as the available human and financial resources.

Key alignment instruments are found in Annexure B at the back of the Strategic Plan.

During the last five-year period, the department developed and/ or continued to make use of policies and strategies that enhance economic, environmental management and tourism development.

These include:

  • Eastern Cape Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan (ECBSAP)
  • Climate Change Response Strategy
  • Provincial Economic Development Strategy
  • Provincial Sustainable Energy Strategy
  • National Biodiversity Economy Strategy
  • Integrated Waste Management Plans
  • Eastern Cape Youth Development Strategy
  • Provincial National Protected Area Expansion Strategy
  • Industry Action Plan
  • Agricultural Policy Action Plan
  • Tourism Master Implementation Plan
  • BBBEE policy,
  • ECAIF Automotive Strategy 2024
  • AIDC Automotive Strategy 2024
  • EC Tooling sector strategy 2024
  • Provincial EC Integrated SMME Strategy 2015-2020
  • Co-operative development strategy 2019-2024
  • Business Incubation Strategy
  • EC Policy Speeches, among others.