The Department of Economic Development, Environmental and Tourism intends to award bursaries to qualifying applicants with a particular focus on the provincial disadvantaged communities pursuing or intending to pursue studies in economic development and environmental management-related academic courses, during the 2024 academic year.

The focus will be on the following areas or streams:

ProgrammeFocus areaQualification
Economic DevelopmentConsumer StudiesDegree in Business Law
Economic DevelopmentEnergy StudiesBSc: Energy Studies
Master’s in Renewable and Sustainable Development
Economic DevelopmentManufacturing and Agricultural Sector Development, Urban Planning, Industrial EngineeringBTech
BSc: Agri-Economics
Economic DevelopmentStatistics, Development Infrastructure, Transport EconomicsBCom: Statistics
BA: Human Ecology and Community Development
Bachelor of Community Development
International Studies
Environmental AffairsPollution and Waste ManagementBSc: Environmental Science
(Waste Management)
BSc: Environmental Science
(Air Quality Management)
Environmental AffairsEnvironmental Research and
Policy Development
Degree in Environmental Policy, Planning,
Design, Sociology &
Environmental Economics
Environmental AffairsEnvironmental ManagementDegree in Environmental Management Biodiversity Coastal or Marine Management
Climate Change
Environmental AffairsScientific StudiesBSc; Environmental Chemistry
BSc in Marine Biology


• Completed bursary application forms

• Acceptance letter together with certified copies of ID Book.

• Grade 12 final results or progress reports.

• Parents or guardian’s proof of salary, if not working affidavit is required.

• Proof of address and affidavit – to prove that the applicant is from Eastern Cape.

• Acceptance letter from the institution applied for.

Only applicants from the Eastern Cape Province will be considered. First preference will be given to applicants who are not in possession of any post-matric qualification and who have never been awarded a bursary by DEDEAT before and to candidates who have passed all relevant subjects. In the event of first-time applications for second-year admission, the results of the first year are required.

NB. Emailed application forms will be considered: externalbursaries@dedea.gov.za

Application forms can obtained from the website (www.dedea.gov.za) and the following offices:

Head Office (Bhisho)

Department of Economic Development, Environmental Affairs and Tourism

Phalo House

Bhisho 5605

Private Bag X0054, Bhisho

South Africa, 5605


Mr Thabo Manentsa

Email: Thabo.Manentsa@dedea.gov.za

Mobile: 066 486 8229

Amathole Regional Office

Ms Jacky Breetzke

Acting Assistant Director: Administration

Department of Economic Development, Environmental Affairs and Tourism

Alderwood House

Palm Square Business Park, Beacon Bay

East London

Tel: 043 707 4000

Mobile: 083 294 5842

Email: Jackoleen.Breetzke@dedea.gov.za

Chris Hani Regional Office

Mr Nyhweba Dyani

Assistant Director: Administration

Department of Economic Development and Environmental Affairs

Banthandwa Ndodo, Komani Office Park



Tel: 045 809 4000

Cell: 083 382 1704

Email: Nyhweba.dyani@dedea.gov.za

Sarah Baartman Regional Office

Mr Dante Rademeyer

Assistant Director: Administration

Department of Economic Development and Environmental Affairs

Private Bag X5001



Tel: 041 508 5826

Cell: 079 897 0958

Email: dante.rademeyer@dedea.gov.za

Joe Gqabi Regional Office

Mr Thandile Tokwe

Assistant Director: Administration Unit: Office Administration

Department of Economic Development and Environmental Affairs

Tel: 051 633 2901

Fax: 086 5056 703

Mobile: 066 689 5572

27 Queen Terrence

Old Library Building

Maletswai (Aliwal North) 9750

Email: Thandile.tokwe@dedea.gov.za

OR Tambo Regional Office

Ms Asanda Sogoni

Assistant Director: Administration

Department of Economic Development and Environmental Affairs

Corner Owen & Leeds Street, 5th Floor

Botha Sigcau Building, Mthatha, 5099

Private Bag X5029, Mthatha, 5099

Republic of South Africa

Tel: 047 531 1191

Fax: 047 531 2887

Mobile: 071 683 0219

Email: asanda.sogoni@dedea.gov.za

Maluti Regional Office

Ms Nontuthuzelo Magugu

Assistant Director: Administration

ERF 206 Magistrate Street

Maluti, 4740

Tel: 039 256 0229

Fax: 039 256 0249

Mobile: 083 254 8462

Email: nontuthuzelo.magugu@dedea.gov.za


Closing date: 24 November 2023

Correspondence will be limited to successful applicants only.

DEDEAT is an equal opportunity employer, therefore, applicants from the designated groups are encouraged to apply.